What is an FHA Loan?

Reading Time: 4 minutes

Don’t let high-interest rates hinder your dream of homeownership. Different loan programs are available to meet the diverse needs of potential and current homeowners. One such program is the FHA loan, guaranteed by the Federal Housing Administration. Learn more about this mortgage option to see if it’s right for you.

An FHA loan is a mortgage program backed by the Federal Housing Administration (FHA), a division of the Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Established in 1934, this mortgage offers flexibility, making homeownership accessible for individuals with high debt or lower credit scores. Even with a bankruptcy or other financial issues, you may still qualify for an FHA loan.

Note that the government doesn’t finance FHA loans. These loans are underwritten by approved third-party mortgage lenders, with the government providing insurance against default or loss. This assurance encourages lenders to offer mortgages to higher-risk borrowers.

FHA loans offer flexible underwriting but are limited to 15-year and 30-year fixed-rate terms. Loan limits depend on the property location. Higher-cost areas have higher limits, while lower-cost areas have lower limits. Use the HUD tool to find FHA mortgage limits for your chosen area.

For FHA loans, a minimum down payment of 3.5% is required. If your credit score is below 580, you may need to provide a 10% down payment. The maximum loan amount depends on factors such as down payment size and credit score. Borrowers with a down payment of 10% or more will have higher loan limits.

The interest rate for an FHA loan is generally more competitive due to the government backing. Current mortgage rates depend on economic and borrower factors. Lower down payments or credit scores may result in higher interest rates. As of February 9, 2023, the national average interest rate for a 30-year fixed-rate FHA loan was 6.76%, according to Bankrate.

FHA loans require mortgage insurance to protect against loss or foreclosure. Every FHA loan includes a mortgage insurance premium (MIP) paid over the life of the loan. If you make a down payment of at least 10%, the MIP applies for the first 11 years.

The MIP premium consists of two parts. The upfront mortgage insurance premium is 1.75% of the loan amount and is due at closing. This amount can be rolled into your loan. You will also pay an annual insurance premium of 0.45% to 1.05% of the loan amount, due monthly during repayment. The exact percentage depends on your down payment and loan terms. This premium can be included in your monthly mortgage payments.

Types of FHA Loans:

The most common FHA home loans are for purchasing a primary residence, allowing borrowers to finance up to 96.5% of the cost. Refinancing options and other unconventional FHA loans are also available. For example, the FHA Rate/Term Refinance allows switching from an adjustable-rate to a fixed-rate mortgage, taking advantage of better interest rates, or modifying debt terms. The FHA Streamline Refinance helps reduce monthly payments and mortgage insurance premiums without new down payment or income verification if the home’s value is less than the outstanding mortgage.

Through a cash-out refinance, FHA borrowers can settle debts, improve home value, or make a down payment. Seniors aged 62 and over have access to the Home Equity Conversion Mortgage (HECM), an FHA-backed reverse mortgage option. HECM allows homeowners with high equity or those who fully own their home to convert some of its value into cash, based on factors like borrower age, interest rates, and property value.

The FHA 203(k) loan is for home improvement projects, allowing simultaneous property purchase and financing of approved renovations. This loan can also be used for a current property, with renovations costing at least $5,000 and completed within six months. Additionally, the FHA Energy Efficient Mortgage (EEM) covers the cost of energy-saving home improvements.

FHA loans offer various programs for borrowers with specific needs or circumstances. The FHA Back to Work program assists those who have experienced financial adversity, such as bankruptcy or foreclosure, and are now seeking to purchase a home. The FHA Good Neighbor Next Door program provides incentives for law enforcement officers, teachers, firefighters, and emergency medical technicians to buy homes in designated revitalization areas at a 50% discount.

The FHA Home Loan is a valuable resource for first-time and repeat home buyers. This program offers flexible downpayment and loan terms, making it a feasible solution for buyers in high-demand real estate markets. Its goal is to help individuals with less-than-perfect credit scores or inadequate downpayment funds transition from renters to homeowners, promoting wealth accumulation through real estate equity. FHA lenders are required to limit closing costs to 3-5% of the loan amount. Additionally, up to 6% can be included in the loan for transfer-related costs like appraisal or credit report. These costs can be covered by sellers, constructors, or lenders.

The eligibility criteria for an FHA loan are less strict compared to other loan forms. For instance, the loan can only be used to purchase a primary residence. The down payment requirement is as low as 3.5% when buying a primary residence with an FHA loan. This down payment can also be gifted, with proper documentation showing no expectation of repayment. Alternatively, a larger down payment can lead to more favorable loan terms. The minimum credit score requirement for an FHA loan is typically around 500, although individual lenders may require a higher score. Lenders evaluate creditworthiness by considering credit utilization, payment history, and other factors.

While there are no specific income requirements, your total income must align with a debt-to-income ratio (DTI) to qualify. Generally, your monthly back-end DTI, combining mortgage payment with existing debts, should not exceed 43% of your total income. Some lenders may also consider the front-end DTI ratio, calculated by dividing your total monthly debt payments (excluding mortgage payments) by your total gross income. It’s recommended to inquire with your potential lender about the DTI ratio they will use to evaluate your loan application.

To apply for an FHA loan, submit a complete mortgage application and go through the approval process. Start by finding an FHA-approved lender and prepare your documents. The lender will conduct a credit check and ask for income proof. Before getting pre-approved, you’ll need documents like a driver’s license, tax returns, bank statements, asset statements, and debt statements. The lender will evaluate if the loan meets the DTI requirement and other FHA-specified criteria, as well as assess your home’s appraisal and condition.

FHA loans require a lower down payment compared to conventional loans, accommodating a higher debt-to-income ratio. However, they generally have higher mortgage insurance premiums (MIP) in the long term. Refinancing could eliminate private mortgage insurance (PMI) once the borrower reaches a certain threshold.

Invest easily in real estate with Foothold

If you want to invest in real estate, check out our available properties here.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *